2020 Exhibition

BMO 1st Art! showcases the winning submissions of the 18th annual BMO 1st Art! competition. The thirteen artists featured are recent graduates of postsecondary art programs from every province and territory who have been honoured for their talent and exceptional accomplishments.

The exhibition was hosted online at the Art Museum at the University of Toronto. Below are accompanying Virtual Spotlight videos in which each winner is interviewed about their work and artistic practice. The videos are hosted by Melody Lu, Art History student and intern at the Art Museum at the University of Toronto.

Simone Elizabeth Saunders, National Winner

Jasmine MacGregor, Alberta Winner

David Ezra Wang, British Columbia Winner

Gabriel Roberts, Manitoba Winner

Matthew Cripps, New Brunswick Winner

Kathleen Elliott, Newfoundland & Labrador Winner

Alex Sutcliffe, Nova Scotia Winner

Ellie Tungilik, Nunavut Winner

Tian Cao, Ontario Winner

Duncan Brooks, Prince Edward Island Winner

Mikael Lepage, Quebec Winner

Rey Francis Dominic B. Tatad, Saskatchewan Winner

Nicole Favron, Yukon Winner

BMO 1st Art! Virtual Exhibition 2020
Art Museum at the University of Toronto
Justina M. Barnicke Gallery, University of Toronto Art Centre